Plenty & Hunger – Abundance & Need

Posted in Uncategorized by Stephen Stonestreet on April 15, 2010

I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Philippians 4:11-13

This verse has been a main point of interest for me for a long time. Paul, of course, has to be one of my favorite people in the Bible. I love that he stated this idea starting with, “I have learned the secret of…” And it is true for today as well. Who knows this secret? I know for myself, I have no idea what it means to either have ” hunger and need.” Growing up in a Christian home has its many comforts. I have experienced the “plenty” and the “abundance”, as most Americans have as well. The only way I have seen need is by gazing into a mothers eyes who has no source of income and is scrapping the floors of the streets just to make it by. I also have seen it in a young boys eyes who has been rescued from a life of “hunger” and “need” and has been given plenty for him to live. He lived on the streets, wandering, making money any way he could – selling cigarettes or recycling or dealing drugs.

I pray that God would reveal this “secret” to me, for I feel this is what it truly will be like when I give up my life to rescue others.

Another interesting and humorous (yet sad) thing is… I heard a lot of that last part of this passage as a kid — “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” It was paralleled to David and Goliath, and other “child-friendly” passages of Scripture. BUT, why didn’t we hear the verses before that explained WHY he said that? We can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. The only way to really understand what this means it to read from the lines above it. It is learning the “secret” and living it, and all the while depending solely upon the strength of Christ to keep you going and do the things you couldn’t do in the flesh, like stay alive for 40 days without food or water, or sleeping for days in the cold with your head resting on a rock…

Dang. If those days come for me, I’m going to need a large sweet tea with a butt-load of refills ;) :P

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. peacebringer said, on April 15, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Yes, the secret of contentment and true peace is total dependence and surrender. Even grasping that concept, it is hard to fully grasp. Either abundance or preceived lack can be barriers and sources of discontent and unfruitfulness.

    Also do a study on Joy of the Lord which is inter-connected to peace.

    Can do all things through Christ who strenghtens and
    the Joy of the Lord is my strength…
    2 simple expressions that we have a difficult time fully grasping and experiencing.


Leave a Reply

