Next Media Missions Trip: Medellin, Colombia

Posted in colombia by Stephen Stonestreet on January 23, 2010

As many of you know, I am heading back to Colombia in March. If you follow me on twitter or your a friend of mine on facebook, im sure you have seen posts about my support letter and making plans for my next trip. As of now, I am starting to make plans for two different projects. Right now I am still in planning mode, but will update you all when things are more underway.

Over the last 4 years, I have had the amazing opportunity to travel to Colombia and work alongside the Open Arms Foundation (OAF) while they continue to rescue and restore the street children who are so broken from drugs, abuse, and much more. Not only has it helped me, it has completely changed me. It is one thing in my life, that God placed there on purpose, that keeps me and drives me to continue to live my life in love to God and service to others. I am so tremendously blessed.

So, this coming trip will be my 5th trip. It is crazy to look back and see how I’ve grown in Love and life. I haven’t always worked with OAF in media, my first trip was when I was 16. I was the most hilarious looking kid who had ever stepped foot on the beautiful earth in Colombia. Take a look for yourself:

I was extremely tall, and had the craziest looking haircut. Regardless, I was changed. And so I went back. And back again. and again. and again. And now, I’m headed back again. This time, to further the media of OAF even more, helping them establish themselves on the internet world, and not only a quick website and a few snapshot photos, but media that will inspire and create a sense of personal involvement on the supporters side. OAF wants to show people how simple it is to open their arms from their own homes and on their own computers, and bless the children of Colombia. And, of course, the best way to truly get the full show, is for people to go to Colombia themselves.

LOOK AT THOSE HANDS. Gah, it never fails. I always have something weird about me each trip ;) First hair, and baby face, but, my FREAKIN BIG HANDS!

Through it all, I have learned so much. And I am learning more and more each day how best I can serve, and how best I can help. It is all for the street children, nothing for anything else.

I will update you more when the time comes. Thanks for all your support and love!

Stephen

Leave a Reply

