The Insignificant in West Virginia

Posted in Uncategorized by Stephen Stonestreet on September 4, 2009

Recently, I have had no time to blog, from work at Chick-fila (40 hours a week), to editing videos and creating blogs for missionaries (which has taken me a total of 40 or more hours to finish — more to come…), to SO MUCH going on with the family and my sister, Lauren, moving to Cleveland, OH… It has been an overload, and I haven’t been able to share it with you lovely people as much as I have wished. So this post is not about all of that, but rather about some really cool things that will be happening in the next few months and a guy I talked to today that is going to be taking me around the rough parts of town here in Charleston. 

His name is Shawn McMullen, and he has been practically everywhere. From living house to house with foster parents, to living on the streets of New York City to Charleston and Huntington, WV since the age of 16, to being in and out of Juvi he has seen a lot. He has an amazing story to tell, and today he asked if I would document it. Not only that, but he is going to show me all throughout Charleston and Huntington, where he lived on the streets, slept, ate, did drugs, and where the homeless children sleep at night. Yes, there are homeless children in WV, right in our backyard my friends who live here. We just haven’t seen them because they have been hidden from society; truly the insignificant ones of this world. I will be documenting it all and telling these peoples story. 

What am I going to do with it? Well, what do you do with all kinds of footage of people in need right in your backyard? You spread it around anywhere you can and where people will listen. 

My plan is to take it into as many churches, community centers, and homes as possible. Let them see the need first hand that they can take that hand and reach out the door of the Four Walls to touch it in the face. People have no idea what is going on, even right here in Charleston, WV. There is a lot of need, and because of growing up here and knowing so many people, and having no idea myself this was going on, I have to do something about it. I feel an obligation. 

 

It might be a small city, an insignificant city, but it is a needy city.


Come and join me on this journey.

Stephen

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Harry said, on September 5, 2009 at 6:13 am

    That sounds awesome man.
    My town has recently opened a homeless shelter where the homeless can stay for a night and get a good breakfast. They are in the process of opening a “dry house” where drug addicts can go to get free.
    Take the film to local authorities as well, to them, these people are just numbers, make them faces.

  2. Stephen Stonestreet said, on September 6, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Exactly, I’m going to use that saying and showing local authorities their faces. :)


Leave a Reply

