rescued from the grave

Posted in Uncategorized by Stephen Stonestreet on March 5, 2009

I am nothing without You,

I was poor and dying, 

And You came to revive,

This broken heart of mine,

With my crying prayer,

You came back into me,

You came to revive me,

You came, and my brokenness is gone,

And I don’t know what to do,

Other than praise Your Name,

Other than be joyful and sing,

So that is what I will do!

 

 

Some became fools through their rebellious ways 
and suffered affliction because of their iniquities.

They loathed all food 
and drew near the gates of death.

Then they cried to the LORD in their trouble, 
and he saved them from their distress.

He sent forth his word and healed them; 
he rescued them from the grave.

Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love 
and his wonderful deeds for men.

Let them sacrifice thank offerings 
and tell of his works with songs of joy.

 

Psalm 107: 17-22

 

Hey everyone. Many of you who have been close to me know that I have been struggling and broken, and some of you who don’t know me to well know that, and I have made it my commitment to be open on here, for the sake of Christ; I will not be a shallow soul. I just simply share the things going on in my life, good or bad, and pray to God to mend them.

Lately, I have been broken beyond belief. It has been a tough last few weeks, as I have said some before. I also left this a few days ago. 

I am delighted to say that God ha brought me to a new place in Him. The brokenness can still be there, but I’m not going to focus on it, because the Lord has healed me from that. I’m freakin out, I don’t know what to do with myself. I didn’t think it could happen, and of course I was doubting God’s ability to forgive me. But I am forgiven, and I am free. I poured myself out last night on my bed, and Go heard my cry. I am different now, renewed, alive! 

I read the verse above in Psalm 107 this morning in a parking lot after getting my morning coffee at Tim Horton’s. It was the first thing I opened up to, and I hear a “yes” to reading that verse, and so I did. It turned out to be exactly what I needed, I must have cried with joy for at least 10 minutes with Hillsong blaring and that verse stuck in my head. 

 

He sent forth his word and healed them;

he rescued them from the grave.

It was truly a beautiful time with God, and I don’t regret anything at all. I believe God told me to share this, and so here it is.

Stephen

Leave a Reply

