My thoughts on President Barack Obama

Posted in Uncategorized by Stephen Stonestreet on January 21, 2009

As a Christian, a follower of Jesus, and a human being, I truly respect President Obama and his cause for this nation. It is an honor as a white man to see the freedom and inspiration that has been brought to the African American population, as well as the people around the world, as a result of him going so far in society as to become our first black president. After so many years of black persecution and our history of slavery, it is so good to see that the hatred that has been so abusive can change into much love and appreciation. 

Growing up in a Christian Conservative family, I have come a long way politically. I have been a conservative, liberal, and independent, learning and growing into what I have become now: unlabeled. For me, I would rather be unlabeled, but instead show through my actions, the way I believe is right. It is for the cause of Christ that I have come to this place in my life. I am not a liberal, I am not a conservative, and I am not an independent, nor a libertarian. I am me, a believer in Christ, and a lover of all people’s: black, white, hispanic, asian; christian, non-christian, jew, gentile; any label in this world. 

Barack Obama should be respected, should be honored, and should be encouraged by all people all the time, to be the person, the president, the leader God has call him to be, no matter if you agree with his politics, beliefs, convictions (etc) or disagree. He is to be respected as a leader God has placed for this time. God places leaders into power and takes the leaders out of power; God leads all, rules all, owns all. 

It is not time to discourage, be indifferent towards, put down, or dishonor Barack Obama as a person or as a leader, but to encourage, love, stand along side of, build up, pray for, and be at peace with him. It is time, as Christians or not, liberal or not, to respect and honor President Barack Obama. 

Those are my thoughts. And his words are true, it is time for hope, and “Yes We Can”. 

God bless you, Barack Obama, and myself to build the cause of love, hope, and faith around the world. 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ~dreama said, on January 22, 2009 at 1:51 am

    Amen!

    Romans 13:1
    [ Submission to the Authorities ] Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.

    1 Timothy 2
    1I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone— 2for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. 3This is good, and pleases God our Savior, 4who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.

  2. Stephen Stonestreet said, on January 22, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Amen to that! Those two verses are what brought me to this place. For so long I was against, or un-submitted, to the government, because I thought it was corrupt and Jesus could be president on earth, which is completely and utterly false… Now, I know, because of these two verses, what God has established and what I should be submitted to.

    Thanks for your comment! Miss you!!


Leave a Reply

