the wisdom of franklin

Posted in Uncategorized by Stephen Stonestreet on November 20, 2008

This is so profound. Ben Franklin, at a young age (20), came to the understanding of the need for a plan for life. I agree that is it good to keep yourself within boundaries, not to wander from one place or one idea to the next, only to hurt yourself and others because of your lack of patience and persistence to get something done. We all need this wisdom in our lives in order to be successful…

ben_franklin

“Those who write about poetry teach us that the greatest poems always began with a grand design or plan. Without these, a poem would just be a hodgepodge of scenes. It is the same with life. I have never had a plan for my life. As a result, it has been as confusing as a poem littered with unconnected events. This voyage back home is a chance to start anew. There, I’m going to make some resolutions and set forth a plan to govern my new life so that I might live rationally and intentionally.”

1. It is necessary for me to be extremely frugal for some time, until I have paid all my debts.

2. I’ll do my best to speak the truth in every situation. I’ll also seek to avoid giving people expectations that are unlikely to be met, aiming instead at complete sincerity in every word and action. Such is the most excellent pursuit for a rational being. 

3. I plan to work very hard at whatever business I undertake in the future. I will not distract myself with my business by any foolish scheme for getting rich quickly. Hard word and patience are the most certain ways to wealth. 

4. Finally, I resolve never to speak poorly of anyone, not even in a matter of the truth. Instead, I will choose by some means to excuse the faults I hear charged upon others, and whenever possible speak all the good I know of everybody.”

– Ben Franklin

 

Poor Richard once said, “Look before, or you’ll find yourself behind.”

 

Well said, I believe.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Here the rules Ben Franklin lived by.* […]


Leave a Reply

