Amazima: “the truth of Christ”

Posted in Uncategorized by Stephen Stonestreet on October 5, 2009

aprilmay 2009 298

So about two weeks ago, my sister, Caitlin, told me about this ministry called, “Amazima”. Her heart is so precious and beautiful; her passion, breathtaking. I am so blessed to call her my sister, and amazed each day by her growth in the Lord, love for others, and passion for those in need. 

One night, as I was heading to bed, Caitlin called me in her room. She wanted to tell me something, and as I usually just tell her, “I’m sorry, I’m exhausted, I really can’t take anymore information in my brains.” But that night she didn’t want to talk about what is going on tomorrow, ask me a question, or anything else, she wanted to share her heart and life with me, in depth. I usually listen, even though I’m exhausted, because we don’t get much time to talk at all. I was glad to listen, and so blessed by what she told me. 

She started explaining to me how “this girl name Katie” had really blessed her, and how she had never encountered someone who had almost the same heart and passion as her. She told me all kinds of stories of what Katie had done, how she started the ministry, and how she (Caitlin) has been dreaming of doing the things Katie has been doing. It was like a confirmation for her, and she heard God say, “Nothing is impossible”. It was so good to hear her heart. We just sat together and cried, hung on to each other and talked for a good hour or more late into the night. It was such an encouragement to me. 

The next day I went to Amazima’s website, and was blown away just like Caitlin had been. This ministry truly is incredible. It reminds me of Mother Teresa and how selfless she was, giving up her life for those in desperate need. 

IMG_4625_0068

Now if you are wondering who “Katie” is, she is the founder of Amazima Ministries International in Uganda, East Africa. It is just too hard to explain what she does and what Amazima is doing in Uganda, so I’m just going to give you the link and let you read it for yourself. After you read and see all the incredible things they do, you will understand why Caitlin and I are so blown away by this ministry. 

Read Caitlin’s blog post on Amazima.

Amazima09_104

Visit their site or read Katie’s blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

